Gillian Flynn – Gone Girl (2012)

GoneGirl

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Here’s a review of Gone Girl (the book). I have yet to see the movie but I hear that there are some striking differences. For one the idea that Amy tries to present herself as “the cool girl” is more apparent in the book than in the movie. I was disappointed to hear this as I thought that Amy’s rant about “cool girls” was one of the most genuine things I had read. Still I’m looking forward to seeing the movie and how certain other aspects are translated to film.

I was originally weary of reading this as I had mixed reviews from various friends. Overall however, I liked it. Gone Girl, is one of those books that you have a hard time putting down, wanting to finish it and to know what happens, but not one where you spend a great deal of time thinking about it once you have finished it. The plot and the story were incredibly creative and intriguing, and Gillian Flynn manages to mess with your mind and change the way you view characters in a way that only George R.R Martin seems to have mastered so far.

The ending is slightly anticlimactic as (SPOILER ALERT) Amy never gets her come-uppance, and Nick has to give in trying to fight her. While sometimes life is like that, and revenge is not always sweet, in a fast paced murder mystery novel, it should be. I liked the book and would recommend it to my friends, but I don’t know if I would reread it myself. Knowing how it ends, and that Amy gets off scot-free does not make me want to read it again.

There’s been a lot of great debate on the internet regarding the complicated gender roles in Gone Girl and whether or not this book/movie is an excuse for men to claim “women are crazy.” Does Amy’s manipulation make Nick the good guy? The debate going on surrounding this book/movie echoes the debate that raged when Fatal Attraction came out. Susan Faludi in Backlash spends an entire chapter dedicated to the gender roles in that movie and a lot of what she says could be applied to Gone Girl today. Nick is not a blameless character and Amy’s farce should not turn him into a hero. That being said, Amy is also clearly not a protagonist, so who do you root for? It is an interesting debate and one that is unlikely to be resolved any time soon. So what was your take on the book or the movie? Is Amy a symbol of female empowerment? Or just an example for men to point at and claim victim status?

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Gillian Flynn – Gone Girl (2012)

  1. Pingback: Best Of – International Women’s Day 2015 | My Book Bag

Leave a Reply

