Beyond Books – Cross-Stitch

Contrary to popular belief I do have other hobbies aside from reading. Over the summer I moved into a new apartment and wanted to decorate it with some handmade things. I used to cross-stitch as a kid and so I decided to start again. I was a bit unsure of how to start so I took to etsy and ordered some kits.

2015-03-10 15.44.58

I started with this tiny hamburger cross stitch kit from etsy seller Quirkorium. She focuses on cute projects and patterns inspired by pop-culture. In addition to kits, she also sells finished works, and cross stitch supplies.

2015-03-10 15.51.41

I purchased this wolf pattern from ModernNeedleworks, which, as the name implies sells more modern and nature-based projects. She also sells home needlepoint cushions and home furnishings.

I purchased one more kit from Alicia Watkins because I wanted something with letters. I elected for the “Please don’t do cocaine in the bathroom” which is something guests always appreciate.

All of these sellers were great and the kits came with cloth, thread, needles, hoops, and an easy to read pattern with instructions for beginners. I highly recommend buying kits if you’re thinking about learning.

2015-03-10 15.47.42

I figured I was ready to try a pattern on my own so I downloaded this bird one from Martha Stewart and I think it turned out pretty well. I love the satisfaction that comes from finishing these projects. They look great in my apartment and make amazing gifts. Etsy is such a good resource for downloadable patterns too, as so many of the sellers focus on pop-culture related projects that you wouldn’t find in a craft store like Michaels.

Happy Crafting

2 thoughts on “Beyond Books – Cross-Stitch

  1. jessicacrafts

    These are great. I just started cross stitching and etsy really is brilliant for finding the perfect level of pattern that you still find interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

