Friday Finds – The Worst Bestsellers

After hopping on the Serial bandwagon earlier this year I realized that there was a whole world of podcasts I was missing out on. I listen to some really great ones that deal with books, most notably Fresh Air from NPR and Books on the Nightstand. I never thought however, that I would find a group of people that I identify with like I do with Kait and Renata from The Worst Bestsellers.

I came across this podcast after it was mentioned on NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour, and it is exactly what the title claims it to be, discussions about the Worst Bestsellers. My friends and I had discussed doing something similar and starting a book club where we would read just terrible books, Modelland was always going to be the first on that list. The Modelland episode of this podcast totally hooked me in and I proceeded to work my way through their back episodes.

Essentially in each episode Kait, Renata, and a special guest give a brief overview of the book in question, go through the major plot points, discussing how absurd many things are, play a game of would you rather, and then suggest a candy pairing for the book. They also have a section called “Readers Advisory,” where they suggest books/tv shows/movies to read/watch instead of the book in question. More often than not the suggestion involves watching Ru Paul’s Drag Race. This is just one of the reasons why I love this podcast; I am just so happy that there are other people in this world who acknowledge that Drag Race is the best thing on TV right now.

For those looking for a taste, I highly recommend listening to their episode on The Secret. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed quite as hard, and The Secret has become a running joke throughout the rest of their episodes (that and their “sponsorship” by ChristianMingle.com).

Not only are Kait and Renata incredibly funny, but they are also both very smart and clearly knowledgeable about books. Listening to the podcast is like sitting among a group of friends and I am so glad I found them.

(Warning: Even thought there are a number of young adult novels featured on this podcast, this is not a family show. Much of the language is explicit and the themes are mature.)

Some Books I’d Love to see them do:
Anything by Bill O’Reilly (Killing Lincoln was especially difficult to get through)
The Other Boleyn Girl (Or anything by Philippa Gregory because she can stand to be taken down a peg)

One thought on “Friday Finds – The Worst Bestsellers

Leave a Reply

